Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

31 Days: When Your Children are Afraid

2 Comments

{art:Robert Gemmell Hutchison}

Kids get scared.

Often these fears are childish—fear of the dark or fear of being alone.

When I was little I was afraid the three bears lived in my mom’s shower.  Later, I was convinced that there was a skeleton in there.  And I thought there were scary angels in my brother’s walk-in closet.

Hardly rational.

But what do you do when the fears are real, when what they fear might really happen?

This is our opportunity to disciple our children to trust God.

First, we must model faith ourselves.  Our children will mimic what they see.

Second, we must continuously reassure them of God’s love, care, and faithfulness even when bad things happen.

Third, we should pray with them and for them and encourage them to pray themselves.

Fourth, we can provide scripture for them to meditate on when they are frightened.  For years my brother kept a tiny plaque in his room with 2 Timothy 1:7 engraved on it: “For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”  This reinforces truth to our children.

Finally, if possible, we should present them with a plan to use in case their fear comes to pass.  “If you forget your song during the recital, just smile and start over.  Remember, the audience is on your side!”  Sometimes having a plan in place makes all the difference.

A firm foundation of faith will help our children grow into fearless people who trust Jesus.  We have the precious opportunity to set them on that journey now—even when their fears are well-founded.

*********

This post of part of 31 Days of Fearless Mothering

*********

Please feel free to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!  I would be thrilled!

*********

Look for my eBook, Fearless Mothering, in November!

2 thoughts on “31 Days: When Your Children are Afraid

  1. love this, thanks for the tips! I have a son that is scared to go in any rooms by himself, I will try these techniques!

Leave a Reply

