Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

One Way to Beat the Blues

6 Comments

Many years ago during a very dark time in my life, I kept a tiny journal next to my bed.

Each night before sleep, I wrote 5 things I was thankful for.

I attribute that one small habit with bringing light and hope and making the circumstantial depression bearable: a simple daily reflection on God’s goodness.

This week’s challenge: Keep a gratitude journal.  It doesn’t have to be fancy, just a place where you can jot down what you’re thankful for that day.  Three to five things seems to be a good number.

Help your children do this as well.  Gratitude helps turn their minds away from their own frustrations to a positive direction.

Here is another post where I wrote about this in relation to getting your day started right!

************

Each month I am looking at one of 5 positive disciplines mentioned by Michael Hyatt in this podcast to re-order our family lives so we can use the internet for good and avoid its destructive impact.  The discipline for the month of September is Reflection.

*********

Please feel free to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!  I would be thrilled!

*********

Look for my eBook, Fearless Mothering, this fall!

*********

Linking:

WIP Wednesday

Women Living Well Wednesday

Works for Me Wednesday

Encourage One Another

6 thoughts on “One Way to Beat the Blues

  1. Great idea! Oh how thankfulness goes hand in hand with a joy filled heart. Thanks,

  2. Yes it does! Hand in hand…I like that…

  3. I’ve been dealing starting a gratitude journal because I wanted to read 1000 Gifts first. Silly I know. Perhaps I should start now. 🙂

  4. Go for it! I read half of 1000 Gifts. I am a huge fan of Ann’s, but I found the book a bit heavy for my heart at the time. Maybe not quite what I expected. Or maybe it was because I just had a baby and was a bit hormonal! Her blog is one of my faves though! Such a wise sister!

  5. Well I can only read her stuff in bits and starts. I get lost in her prose…I find it confusing. That is one reason I have delayed reading 1000 Gifts. Not sure I’m gonna be able to get through it. She is so wise! I enjoy the posts I make it through! 🙂

  6. Keeping a gratitude journal is a great idea and helps me keep in the forefront of my mind “whatsoever things are true, noble, just, pure, holy, virtuous, and of good report”. It’s a great thing to include our chidlren in learning to be thankful in whatever the circumstances. Thanks for the reminder and the encouragement to keep such a journal. *smile* Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

Leave a Reply

