Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

2 Questions That Will Change the Way You Mother

6 Comments

I don’t know about you, but even though I am home with my children all day, I sometimes get so busy with the cooking, cleaning, laundry, and basic physical care that I forget to come up for air and connect with my kids the way I should.

Lately I have tried to ask myself two questions at the end of the day.

“How have I fed my children’s souls today?”

Did I pray with them?  Did we read a Bible story?  Did we have a spiritually meaningful conversation?  Better yet, were these things sprinkled through my day as a lifestyle of discipleship?  It’s not about a checklist.  Every day will look different.  But was I intentional in some way about nurturing their spiritual lives?

“How have I reached my children’s hearts today?”

Have I connected with each of them in a way that makes them feel loved and strengthens our bond?  Did I give enough hugs and snuggles?  Did I take time to listen to them?  Did I say “yes” to their requests for a game or a tea party?  Did I speak gently and with understanding?  Did I discipline with grace, mercy, and kindness?  Did we read together?  Did I laugh with them?

Again, each day will look different.  But I don’t want the days to slip away with so many mundane activities that I neglect my relationship with my children, and their relationship with God.

Asking these questions has been good self-accountability.  Day by day it may not seem like much, but it adds up to a years of little connections that build a solid foundation.

What is one thing you do to feed your child’s soul or win their hearts?

********

Please feel free to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!  I would be thrilled!

*********

Look for my eBook, Fearless Mothering, this fall!

*********

Linking:

On Your Heart

Soli Deo Gloria

Heart +Home Gathering

Titus 2sday

6 thoughts on “2 Questions That Will Change the Way You Mother

  1. Yes. Good questions, and ones we should ask ourselves every day, as you do. Just as productive sometimes are the questions we ask our children. We spend so much time instructing. Listening helps.

  2. Yes, JoAnne! I could not agree more!

  3. I enjoy reading your blogs. Good questions. My little girl is 2, and I often (but not everyday) asked myself how much more do I know/understand my girl. It seems a lifelong assignment for me then 🙂

  4. I agree, Lily, we never arrive…always on a journey!

Leave a Reply

