Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Make a Cute Wardrobe for $5 a Month

Leave a comment

I have heard women say time and again, “I can’t dress cute because I don’t have any money for clothes.”

Hogwash!

No woman should ever lack cute outfits because of a tight budget—at least not in the USA.

There was a time when I never dreamed of shopping thrift.  I don’t know why—I guess in my mind that is where poor people shopped.  So I would cripple along on my frugal clearance outfit or feel guilty for paying full price out of desperation.

Thrifting changed all of that.  I’ll never be a fashionista, but I am happy with my wardrobe most of the time.

Here’s another thing I hear about clothes.  “I don’t want to spend money on clothes until I lose weight.”

Don’t ever go there!  You can look beautiful and put together no matter what your size!  Don’t let extra pounds discourage you from taking care of yourself and dressing nicely.

Sometimes when I go to the thrift store they have nothing I can use, and other days I totally score. 

I’m careful about thrift shopping because it does take a little more time, time I don’t have.  My favorite tiny thrift store is on a main street where I pass at least weekly, so I try to give myself an extra few minutes to pop in and look around.

The other day was totally a “score” day.

I found 4 pairs of never-worn, tags still on Bermuda shorts in my size, from Target, Sears, JC Penney, and Eddie Bauer.

Never mind that size is not the one I wish I was in.

And I don’t even know if Bermuda shorts are still in style.

But.  They looked good on me, and at 75 cents each, how could I pass them up?

Think about this.  What if you had only $5 a month to spend on clothes?

One month you score like this.  Or a piece here and there.  $3 total.

The next month, maybe you find four cute shirts for a similar price.

That is not a big wardrobe, but if they are clothes you love, you could wash them regularly and have a minimal everyday wardrobe for the whole season—for literally less than $10.

Not all thrift stores are created equal.  Where I live, the biggest and most popular one in town has higher prices, it’s dirty, the employees are rude, and they never have sales.  Occasionally I brave it because their selection is huge, but not often.  My little store is in a quieter part of town, it’s small, and a lot of people don’t even know it’s there.  But it’s also clean, well run, and inexpensive, and that keeps me coming back several times a month.

Another thing I love to thrift are housewares. 

My house doesn’t look like it came from the pages of Flea Market Style, but it does look a lot cuter than it did before I started shopping thrift.  I could never bring myself to spend bookoodles of cash on brand new housewares when there were more important things to buy.

Here’s a recent find.  The cute stripey plates are Ralph Lauren and the complete set came with a platter too.  Everything else in the photo is thrifted as well, except the candles that I got for 90% off clearance after Christmas one year.

Just a few bucks for a whole lot of pretty.

I know this post has been rambly, but I just want to encourage you—if you don’t normally thrift, it’s a great way to save huge amounts of money.  Just give it a try!

If you’re a thriftier, what is your favorite-ever find?  What items do you look for on a regular basis?

*********

Please feel free to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!  I would be thrilled!

*********

Look for my eBook, Fearless Mothering, this fall.

*********

Linking:

Leave a Reply

