Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

More Ways to Tell Your Brain it’s Time for Sleep

4 Comments

Each month I am looking at one of 5 positive disciplines mentioned by Michael Hyatt in this podcast to re-order our family lives so we can use the internet for good and avoid its destructive impact.  The discipline for the month of August is Rest.

Throughout most of history, darkness told our bodies that it was time for rest. 

When the sun went down, people went to bed because they didn’t have much choice.

In modern times, though, we can extend daytime indefinitely with bright lights.  Often our bodies never get the message that it’s time for sleep.

If you’ve committed to going to bed earlier and turning off screens before bed time, why not take another step?

This week’s challenge:

Dim the lights as bedtime approaches. 

Turn out all the lights in rooms you aren’t using, and use soft lamps and candles only.  Not only will you feel sleepier, but soft light is romantic, right?  It’s a win-win!

I know that so many couples feel they are too exhausted or busy for private time together, but if you are going to bed early, turning off the TV and other screens, and dimming the lights, maybe it won’t seem so impossible after all!

A bonus challenge for those who don’t already do this: create simple, peaceful bedtime rituals for your children. 

Read them a story, sing a lullaby, pray with them.  Tuck them in with soft music or audio Bible stories if they are used to having noise to go to sleep.  Isn’t this better than letting them fall asleep in front of the TV?  I am not very good at bedtime routines, so this will be a challenge for me—but a very necessary one.

What about you?  What soothing bedtime routines do you use to help you and your children feel like it’s time for sleep?

********

Please feel free to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!  I would be thrilled!

********

Linking:

WIP Wednesday

Women Living Well Wednesday

Works for Me Wednesday

4 thoughts on “More Ways to Tell Your Brain it’s Time for Sleep

  1. Thomas is the most interesting child…Pretty much every night at 7:30, I say, “Ready to go night night?” He will say, “night night” and walk to his room! We wrestle into jammies and then rock for a few minutes while he nurses. I’m hoping to transition from nursing to reading a story. I usually pray over him while he nurses, and then put him in his bed.

    Now my bed time routine could use improvement! It’s usually, write for the blog until 10. Then get ready for bed. Check FB and Tweets. Kiss the hubs and go to bed. (He’s studying for a big exam so he stays up late)

    Thanks for linking up with WIP Wednesday!

  2. I love rocking/nursing babies to sleep! Now that my little guy is 1 1/2 I know I don’t have much of that time left so I treasure it. It’s the older kids that I don’t do such a good job with…Trying to balance baby’s needs with checking their rooms, supervising tooth brushing, etc. Maybe I am just disorganized. 🙂 It’s good to hear that I’m not the only one who has an imperfect routine. 🙂

  3. I love this. I tend to be a night owl so then I really have to work at getting up in the morning. I need to switch my priorities around. I love the dimming of the lights. Great idea.

  4. I have to work at it too, Sherri! I am terrible about turning lights off!

Leave a Reply

