Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Mentor Monday: Mrs. Ferre

3 Comments

“My training to serve God began in the school of prayer, which is the strongest power on earth. 

As my mind wanders back into my childhood days, and memories unfold as pages in a book, I remember how Mama brought us eight children up on prayer.  She served it both as a full-course meal and snacks in between.  There was no escaping from this order.  It was the only contact between heaven and earth, so when one wanted to commune with God, one must pray…

Mama was impatient in her praying.  She was never willing to wait for things, but expected an immediate answer…

To Mama, prayer came as easy as breathing.  Even if she knew people termed her prayer method strange and naïve, it never seemed to bother her.  She kept on praying that the cake she had placed in the oven would not fall and that the food would stretch a long way because there were so many to feed at the table. 

And there was the long line of people who depended on her help and came to ask her to take their problems to God for them.  Those people surely believe that God would answer them through Mama.  They felt that in some strange way she was “in” with God and that He would grant her what He would refuse them.  So prayers would be sent out for a quick sale of their house, for a husband to be kinder to his wife, and children to recover from their colds. 

I often heard her prayers and saw the people coming, and I never remember one who went away disappointed.  Things did change when Mama talked with God.”

~Mama’s Way by Thyra Ferre Bjorn

The example of Thyra’s mother influenced her children to follow God.  Mama’s Way is a little book about prayer that tells about the fruit that was borne in her life because of her mother’s example.

It challenged me to set a better example to my children in the area of prayer.

Do you pray in front of your children?  How do you set an example that will inspire them spiritually?

*******

Linking to Better Mom Mondays

On My Heart

******

Please feel free to like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter!  I would be thrilled!  Also, look for my e-book, Fearless Mothering, this fall!

3 thoughts on “Mentor Monday: Mrs. Ferre

  1. This is so important, but hard for non-verbals like me. The times when I step out and pray ‘big prayers’ in front of my kids, God never disappoints. He is so good to reward my small faith and grow us all. Thank you for this testimony.

  2. You are welcome. 🙂 I totally understand. I am fine with breath prayers during the day, but pouring my heart out usually happens when I’m alone. The rare times that I’m driving by myself are the best! But yes…God never disappoints…This challenged me too.

  3. hi can u suggest me about my angerness on my daughters they are 2,5 and 5,5. I became angery on them at normal littel things…. like a stuborn mother..i hv readed all ur articals.. thanks

Leave a Reply

