Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Learn to Live Guilt-Free

Leave a comment

We moms mess up.

We’re broken and imperfect and often untrained, inexperienced with small new people given to us and we are supposed to raise them right.  Sometimes it feels like they are raising us, growing us up and making us mature in ways we never were before.

But sometimes our mess-ups feel so big that they paralyze us.  We feel unworthy to parent right, because in the past we have done wrong.  Our sins haunt us even after we repent and overcome them.

I was too harsh. 

I was selfish. 

I yelled. 

I had you out of wedlock.

I did not protect you well enough.

Or we feel guilt for things outside our control. 

You fell before I could catch you.

I made a poor choice that hurt you. 

I didn’t know he wasn’t safe.

And that guilt eats us alive, eats our souls and cripples us.  That voice of condemnation says:

“You are a bad mother, why even try?”  

“Your children will hate you.”

“You will never change.  You are hopeless.”

“You are doomed to repeat the mistakes your parents made.”

“Everyone knows what you did.  You should be ashamed.”

But to the daughter of God, Jesus says something different.

Jesus says:

“I forgive you.” (I John 1:9)

“Be made whole.” (John 5:2-8)

“You are more than a conqueror through me.” (Romans 8:37)

“I have come that you might live an abundant life.” (John 10:10)

“Take every thought captive and renew your mind.” (2 Corinthians 10:5, Romans 12:2)

“You can do all things through me.” (Philippians 4:13)

“My strength is made perfect in your weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

And Jesus says this:

 “There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” Romans 8:1

 Let it sink in, dear sweet mom.

Stop living tortured by guilt of the past, and know that if you are God’s child, Jesus does not condemn you, and you should not condemn yourself.  He is the great Restorer.  He is here to give you mercy and grace, to take away the guilt that paralyzes you.  He takes you by the hand and says, “Daughter, rise up and walk!”

Has guilt frozen your effectiveness as a mom?  How can you let Jesus free you today?

***********

Please feel free to like me on Facebook!  I would be thrilled!

Leave a Reply

