Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

“Fall In Love With Reading” for February!

1 Comment

The other day I ran across this great idea for reading encouragement/emphasis during the month of February.  (Do check out the link!  It is very inspiring!) I meant to post it sooner since February has already begun, but it isn’t too late to do this fun project!  I made us a little poster for inspiration.  I see that Allison put her tree trunk on poster board which is probably a better idea.  We quickly realized that we are going to run out of room on our trees, even using small hearts.

{side note: our little clothesline above the picture window has been the best educational tool we’ve employed lately.  amazing what a few feet of twine, a couple nails and some clothes pins can do!}

Mom and Dad have set goals for ourselves too.  I think it is important to set a good example when it comes to reading.  I used to read books voraciously, but thanks to busyness, poor evening lighting, and other distractions (coughpinterestcough), I have not read much lately.  I have three books that I have wanted to read for a few months, so they are on my list of books to complete.  Here they are: (apparently I am on a black and red themed book kick):

Gospel: Rediscovering the Power that Made Christianity Revolutionary by JD Greear (so basic, so essential)

Jesus Plus Nothing Equals Everything by Tullian Tchividjian (close to my heart)

Rid of My Disgrace: Hope and Healing for Victims of Sexual Assault by Justin and Lindsey Holcomb (to be better equipped to help sweet ones who have suffered at the hands of others)

How do you encourage your children to read?  What is on your reading list?

One thought on ““Fall In Love With Reading” for February!

  1. Yes! I am into book boosting and I am browsing blogs that do so. Getting kids to love books early means they will keep reading throughout life. “Train up a child…indeed!”
    Blue Skies,
    CricketMuse

Leave a Reply

