Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Homeschool Mother’s Journal 10-24-11

3 Comments

Linking up again this week.

In my life this week…

I was sick. What started as a killer headache went on and on and on the 3rd day I started running fever and aching all over. I have no idea what it was. No one else is sick, and I hope it stays that way.

In our homeschool this week…

I schooled from the couch a lot. On Friday I couldn’t even get up, but the kids were so sweet about coming to me and letting me supervise from bed. One downside is that when a homeschool mom gets sick there is no sub! I know I could take a day off if I really had to, but I prefer to save those days for great fun or real emergency.

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

You don’t always have to be at the kitchen table to have school. Have it where it makes the most sense. If it means teaching from the bed, from the rocking chair while you nurse a little one, listening to a reader while you wash dishes, or having a lesson outside, go for it. I am learning, finally, after so many years of burnout, that those veteran homeschoolers had it right when they said, “Don’t try to copy institutional school at home.” You’ll kill yourself.

I am inspired by…

Jessica at Teachable Moments. I have been reading her blog for awhile and it always encourages me.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

We continued swimming lessons this week. Since I was sick, that was about it. We didn’t even all make it to church. My 8-year-old did tag along to a football event with a friend Sunday, but this was a light week in the socialization department.

My favorite thing this week was…

Probably just loving on my little ones. I love that they are still little enough to love snuggling.

What’s working/not working for us…

We are successfully integrating language arts. The younger kids read to me daily, and they practice their handwriting independently. Otherwise, we have been doing group art/creative writing projects several times per week which they ADORE. For example, this week we made a list…something like a bucket list or “before I die” list…But I did not want to get that morbid with little ones. We called it “Some day I would like to…” and everyone made a list or poster about things they would like to do one day. We also illustrated our lists. Some of us had more illustration, while others had mostly writing, but everyone both wrote and drew something. I do these creative projects with them, which makes them happy. Clarice at Storybook Woods clued me into this when she once mentioned that children are far more likely to become engaged in an activity if they see you doing it too. I have found this to be true. They love it when I participate with them.

Elizabeth, my oldest, has been working on a story that takes place in the historical period she’s studying (ancient Rome). I have been noting misspelled words from her writing projects (and even her texts, haha) and making a list. Each day we have a “spelling bee” for 10 or 15 minutes. They are not competing against each other, only themselves. I give Elizabeth words she has missed and I give the younger kids age-appropriate words that they need to learn. I will probably start using a curriculum list to come up with these words. For each word they get right, they get a penny. I got this idea from Pioneer Woman. I think she gives her kids candy, but pennies work better for us.

What’s not working is my haphazard method of record keeping and grading. I do it, but not in a way that is as organized or consistent as it needs to be. It’s kind of like brushing my teeth, not my favorite thing, it’s just something that has to be done. I don’t feel upset about this, it’s just the next thing to work on and master.

Questions/thoughts I have…

How can I add more grammar to our language arts? They will learn most of it just by writing, but there are some things (like parts of speech) that have to be learned more from the book. I’m thinking through the best way to do this.

Things I’m working on…

Notes and letters. Catching up after being sick. Phone calls. Very mundane things. I need to upload pictures to send grandparents. I’m notoriously bad about this.

I’m reading…

I was going to re-read Mere Christianity this week, but I can’t find it. Maybe it ended up in my husband’s office? I need to track it down. It’s time for a dose of CS Lewis.

I’m cooking…

Hamburger steak, steamed cauliflower, and…not sure.

I’m grateful for…

Feeling better.

I’m praying for…

My children.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Am I the last mom in the universe to know about this website? Brain Pop. Great educational stuff!!!

3 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal 10-24-11

  1. We use Easy Grammar and Daily Grams. Simple, easy, not hard to teach and usually lessons that can be done in minutes. Sounds too good to be true, huh? We really like it, though! We’ve just removed it from Em’s repertoire, as she has enough other things to keep he going. Would you like to borrow ours? I bought it at a yard sale for $5 and it came in such a great package! The other homeschool mama had taken the entire book apart carefully and combined it with the teacher’s manual in a HUGE 3 ring binder. She also figured out the points for each page so it’s super easy to grade:) I would be happy to add it to our growing pile of things to mail to you…I’ve switched box sizes twice!!

  2. If you want something fun for parts of speech, try “Schoolhouse Rock!” It’s a series of catchy musical, animated shorts from the 1970’s and 80’s. You can buy the whole set (which includes math and civics shorts, as well) on Amazon for about $20; but they are also available on youtube. I used to watch them in public school in the 90’s, and to this day the matching songs still come up in my head when certain parts of speech are mentioned. Sometimes I hum them, which more than once has caused a spontaneous musical outbreak with my peers–I would say the videos were pretty effective in their goal of getting us to remember parts of speech!

  3. Please email me! I have a question about your blog! 🙂

    HeatherVonsj@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

