Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

This Week

Leave a comment

I have resisted making this a “homeschool blog” because I want it to feel like a safe and inclusive place, and I know educational choices can be polarizing.  But the truth is that homeschooling does consume a huge amount of my life, more all the time.  So this week I’m joining The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.

In my life this week…

I feel like I’ve been barely staying afloat–or rather, dipping below the surface a few times!  It’s been a full week!

In our homeschool this week…

We are trying to find our rhythm.

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

Be a learner.  I learn from every mom I’m around and talk to.  I love to observe people, see what they are doing well, and adapt their methods to my own life.  It’s a lot better than winging it alone.

I am inspired by…

Right now, interest-led learning blogs.  Unschooling isn’t the right choice for our family for a number of reasons, but I see enthusiasm and a spark in unschoolers and relaxed homeschoolers that I don’t see in many other families.  And when I read homeschool blogs by hyper-organized moms with color coded binders, I want to cry.  When I read about relaxed schoolers, I think, “I can do this.  And it could even be fun.”

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

The kids had swimming lessons last week.  The facility where they are taking lessons had a scheduling difficulty for after-school hours, so the swim coach offered to do daytime lessons just for us.  I’m so happy since this instructor pushes them harder and they are learning more than they would with a high school-age instructor.  We had yearbook pictures with our homeschool group, and a birthday party for everyone in the group who had birthdays recently.  We had friends over last Sunday afternoon and we ended up inviting them for supper too.  Fun!  Sweet friends had us to their home Monday for delicious Texas barbeq

My favorite thing this week was…

Seeing the kids learn to swim (and improve their skill, for those who already know how).  I love to see them learning things that kids their age in our culture need to learn.  There is a long story behind why I appreciate that, but it makes my heart smile.

What’s working/not working for us…

I’m mentally re-working the way we do language arts.  We are currently doing each subject separately (spelling, English, etc.) and I need a way to integrate them.  It’s taking too much time and no one is enjoying it.  We have tried some creative writing projects and I’m working on how to incorporate that while still teaching the kids what they need to know.  But seriously?  I think they have learned more from a few fun writing projects than from weeks of book work.

Questions/thoughts I have…

Will this be the year we hit our stride?

Things I’m working on…

Still plugging away at the kitchen, even though I’m not blogging about it.  All the cabinets need to be cleaned out and organized.

I’m reading…

Sadly, nothing except my Bible.  I should pick up a book.

I’m cooking…

Grilled chicken and veggies, chicken soup, and white beans.

I’m grateful for…

Beautiful, amazing fall weather.

I’m praying for…

An acquaintance who lost her son in an accident this week.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

How about a few?

A few words for overwhelmed mamas of little ones…

Encouragement on out-of-the-box kids

More from Sally, Discipleship is a choice that will cost you everything…about discipling our kids…

Leave a Reply

