Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

31 Days to a Kitchen You Love, Day 2: Window Treatments

Leave a comment

{Keeping it real, I actually took a pic of my window but I have a sleeping baby on my lap and can’t upload the picture right now.  So I borrowed this one from Lissa at Keep it Simple, Keep it Fresh…Hers is much cuter!  Go visit her amazing blog!}

***********

The kitchen window holds sweet memories for me, not the least of which is that the first time I saw my now-husband was through the kitchen window!  My sister and I spent many, many, MANY hours washing dishes together (for our family of 7, sans dishwasher, cooking everything from scratch).  It’s probably where I learned more about diligence and faithfulness than anywhere else, for the dishes march on whether you wash them or not—so they’d better get done!  I spend lots of hours doing dishes as an adult, with the kids’ help.  I’m sure they’ll put in their fair share of time at that sink with the window above it, so why not make it a pretty spot?

I love natural light.  Nothing lifts my spirits more.  My large kitchen in this house only has one window, but it’s a good size and it’s in the standard place over the sink!  It’s been plain for most of the 4 years I have lived here.  The first thing I wanted to do in this mini makeover is to dress it with a pretty little valance!

I checked the retail stores but they didn’t have what I was looking for, and besides, I’m too thrifty to pay $15 a panel.  When I peeked into my favorite thrift store, there was a perfect set of 2 white valances for $2.50.   {Side note: thrifting pays!}

I have always loved The Nester’s idea of window mistreatments.  Although these are real curtains, I mistreated them a little.  One had a tiny stain near the end.  I will tell you a little secret, I just hacked it off.  No one’s the wiser.  My window is wide, too wide for a single valance.  I used both and scrunched them together.  The Nester’s words have inspired me so many times:  It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful!

What about you?  Do you have window treatments or do you prefer to keep your windows plain?  Is there something you want to change about your windows?

Leave a Reply

