Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Ten Minute Creativity

3 Comments

As beings made in the image of God, we share the creativity of the one who made the universe.  I don’t know about you, but when I don’t get a chance to be creative, I get downright cranky.  The problem is that this happens pretty often, since I’m a busy mom.

Solution: Find something I can do in just a few minutes, or a few minutes at a time.  I’ve never had time to make any of my babies a quilt, although quilting is one of my favorite activities.  This time around, I made a very simple strip quilt and machine quilted it.  No measuring, no pattern, just one piece of fabric that was the right size for a crib quilt, strips of fabric sewn together for the front, sewed it together like a pillow case, and turned it inside out.  I added a tiny bit of simple hand embroidery, but altogether I probably spent no more than 2 hours total on my project, 10-20 minutes at a time.  It was so rewarding!  It wasn’t perfect, it wasn’t like something a real quilter would do, but it made me happy to find a way to make something for my little one.

Here are a few other things you can do in 10 minutes:

Spray paint a picture frame or some other item.

Knit or do some other hand work (crochet, embroidery…) while you visit with your husband, child, or friend, talk on the phone, or wait for an appointment.

Journal for a few minutes before you go to sleep.

Create a simple centerpiece for the dining room table.

Plant flowers

Sew a small item (such as a pillow cover) that requires only straight lines and minimal measuring and detail work.

I know this is just the tip of the iceberg!  What are your favorite quick, creative things to do?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m Reviving Motherhood on Facebook.  Feel free to friend me!

3 thoughts on “Ten Minute Creativity

  1. Great ideas! Would love to see a pic of your creation.
    I love to scrapbook. But I have no place to keep my stuff out and accessible. So it takes me 10 minutes just to pull everything out of the closet.

  2. That is why I finally made a place for my sewing machine! I had it in the closet with the rationalization that I don’t sew enough to keep it out. I found, though, that I didn’t use it because of the extra time it took to set it up. I have never scrapbooked, mainly because I know it would become an addiction! There are too many fun thing to do–it’s hard to choose! 🙂

  3. I wish I had the skill of quilting, or sewing. SOmeday- a retirement project maybe?

    I really like to draw, but don’t make myself do it enough, and also to make cards- paper crafting. You’re so right about being creative. It is very important to the mama’s soul.

    Thanks for stopping by. I really like your blog and look forward to looking around some more!

Leave a Reply

