Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

How to Get a Shower With a New Baby

2 Comments

One of the most common complaints from new moms is that they can’t seem to find a way to get a shower with a new baby.  (Truthfully, I find it a lot harder to get a shower with a mischievous toddler!)  I think it is so important to find little minutes to take care of ourselves, even when we are busy with little ones.  With a new baby, here’s what works for me.  I just put baby in his car seat or bouncy seat and take him in the bathroom with me.  I can keep an eye on him (and save him from over-loving siblings), and my babies have all loved the sound of running water.  Usually they are quiet.  But if they do cry…I am a huge proponent of responsive mothering and I don’ t let my little babies cry.  I pick them up and snuggle them.  But really and truly, it won’t kill your baby to cry for the few minutes it takes to get a super quick shower.  Then throw on some clothes and pick him up!  Mama is clean and baby is happy.  Later, you can take another 5 minutes to throw on some makeup and simple accessories or do your hair.  You’ll feel so much better!

2 thoughts on “How to Get a Shower With a New Baby

  1. I love it! The illustrations use for pictures are beyond adorable. I love vintage, children’s art/toys/clothes/everything!! Where do you find these?

    What works for me. I put my youngest in a boppy so I can peek at him from the shower. He does great! We have a bathtub seperate from the shower in our masterbath and I put my toddler in there while I shower. I can have my eye on both of them at the same time and take a shower as long as the hot water holds out.

  2. Great idea if you have a separate bath/shower! I know my 2yo would love that too.

Leave a Reply

