Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Healthy-ish Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

Leave a comment

 

I was looking for a cookie to make in quantity and freeze that I didn’t feel too terrible about feeding my kids.  Something with some whole grain and protein, without any/much refined white sugar.

 

These are a modified version of a recipe I used years ago, which I have always loved.  Although they have a healthy-ish taste (think breakfast cookie type taste), they have a good texture and they are easy to whip up.  And they have no eggs, which is great for those with egg allergies or those who like to eat cookie dough but won’t eat cookie dough with raw eggs (er, me).  And they are dairy free, for my dairy allergic kid.

 

They aren’t the healthiest cookies in the world.  My nutritionist friends would be concerned that they have too much fat, and my nourishing food friends would contend that they grains and almonds should be properly soaked, but for now they are fine, a lot better than regular cookies, especially ones that come in a package.  And they don’t send my kids into a sugar tailspin.

 

This is a really big recipe, since I wanted to freeze them, but it can be divided.  And the ingredients are pricey…But I dole them out, since I’m also trying to limit snacks to reasonable amounts.

 

With that lengthy introduction, here ya go…

 

***************

 

Cream:

 

2 c. coconut oil

2 c. almond butter (or peanut butter)

1 qt. honey

1/2 c. cane syrup or molasses

4 T vanilla

 

Add:

12 c. whole wheat flour

4 t baking soda

 

Stir in:

2 12-oz packages chocolate chips (I use Ghirardelli semi-sweet because they are dairy free, yay!!!)

Chopped nuts, if desired

 

Drop by teaspoonfulls onto greased cookie sheet.  Bake 8-10 minutes at 375.  Don’t overbake.

 

 

Leave a Reply

