Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza

1 Comment

After the oatmeal cookie recipe, I thought I’d post a few recipes for family-friendly food that’s more nutritious than the traditional packaged/processed version.  These aren’t at the top of the nutritional ladder, but they are a long way from the bottom.  Here’s how we like to make pizza.  Sorry, no picture.  My computer is down and I don’t have access to my photos on this one.

I begin with my bread machine recipe for 1 large loaf of whole wheat bread:

1 3/4 c. water

1 t. salt (or more for pizza dough, if you like a salty crust)

1 T. olive oil

1 T. honey

4 2/3 c. whole wheat flour

1 t. yeast

Mix on “dough” setting till complete, through first rise.  This takes 1 1/2 hours on my machine.

Remove from bread machine.  Divide dough into 2 equal portions and pat them out in greased large pizza pans.  (I got  deep dish pizza pans at Tuesday Morning several years ago.)  Spread with pizza or spaghetti sauce of your choice, however much you desire, and sprinkle with shredded mozzarella cheese–again, as much or as little as you like.  Add whatever toppings you want.  Combinations are obviously endless.  I like to use Hormel’s nitrite free deli meats (I think they are called Natural Choice…), available at Wal-Mart.  They sell a sandwich pepperoni in large slices–I just chop them up into bite size pieces.

Personally, sprinkle the dough/sauce with half my cheese, add toppings, and then sprinkle with more cheese.  It just seems to work better that way.

Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza

  1. Hey! I’ve been gone a while too. I’ve never tried making the wheat crust…I think I’ll try it. I let the kids make their own mini pizzas. Most Saturday’s, we have “pizza night” and everyone makes their own small pie. I use a small, round cake pan for the kids’ pizzas.

Leave a Reply

