Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Babywearing Love!

Leave a comment

ergo

Hmmm, it appears that I totally missed International Babywearing Week, which is probably way more crunchy and alternative and hippie and so forth than most of us–ahem–“normal” mamas. Not that I consider myself very normal. But anyway.

I’ve tried a lot of different baby carriers over the years, and I’ve finally landed a favorite: Ergo. I’m pretty frugal and very reluctant to let go of that much cash (around $100), so I researched for about 2 years, pros and cons, talking to people who loved their Ergos and those who didn’t. Finally I made the splurge and ordered one for myself, and Oh. My. Heavens. Am I glad I did! I wish I’d had this carrier for all my babies!

The main difference between the Ergo and other carriers I’ve used is that it’s designed to distribute weight across mama’s hips instead of hanging baby from her shoulders. This is a big deal for me since my little ones usually skyrocket to 20 pounds in a matter of weeks. That’s a lot of weight to hang from your shoulders for extended periods of time. So comfort is definitely the biggest pro. I’ve been carrying (grumpy teething) Grace around on my back for hours and hours over the past couple weeks, without getting tired. Sometimes I even forget she’s back there. I can do all my work hands-free, yet she’s close and happy.  Babies can be carried in front, back, or hip positions, so it’s very versatile.

Cons: There’s an infant insert which I haven’t used, but the straddle position would definitely not be good for very small babies. Instead of hanging legs, baby ends up in more of a sitting position, which a tiny one couldn’t do. Also, if you’re the kind of person who likes something uncomplicated, like a sling, it does have several straps. It’s a bit of a trick to navigate the first time or 2, and I still have to have Elizabeth help me get Grace in the back carry position.

Ummm…Other than that I can’t think of any negatives. I love it. Highly recommend it. If you’re thinking about giving babywearing a shot, this is definitely the carrier I’d start with.

(pic from the Ergo web site)

Leave a Reply

