Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Fifteen Minutes!

1 Comment

Lately I’ve felt a bit overwhelmed. OK, I always feel a little overwhelmed, but lately it’s been more intense than usual. (Hence, no blogging.) My goal for 2008 has been to streamline, and while I’ve gone a long way toward that end, there’s still a lot to do.

I hopped over to Flylady’s web site. Flylady really helped me get my home in order when I was a new mom. Her (free) email system doesn’t work for me right now, but I definitely needed a refresher on basic principles.

Two of Flylady’s basic tenets are “You can do anything for 15 minutes,” and “My timer is my best friend.”

So for the past couple days I’ve been using my timer. Fifteen minutes in the kitchen, fifteen minutes of tidying, fifteen minutes doing something with one of the kids. (Flylady recommends a 15 minute break every hour, but I really have difficulty implementing this.) I find that the 15 minute limit helps me get more done in a short amount of time and it keeps my day more balanced. Instead of getting sidetracked with all there is in one area, I’m doing a little in each one till they are all done. I still have plenty that’s not completed, but I’m feeling a little relief from the frustration. I have to remind myself of another of Flylady’s sayings: “Baby steps!”

P.S. Apparently I can blog for 15 minutes too!

One thought on “Fifteen Minutes!

  1. The hard part about blogging for 15 minutes is to get a post completed in that amount of time. Still, I can think of lots of applications of that plan: paint (watercolor) for 15 minutes, clean up the yard for 15 minutes, iron for 15 minutes, and so on.

    The other thing I’ve been doing which has taken a bit of the pressure off is to alternate days for certain things, like blogging. I’ve been trying to work on posts one day and blog-housekeeping the next day.

Leave a Reply

