Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Daily Routines

7 Comments

In the comments to this post, Angel asked about routine. I’m flattered that anyone thinks I have a routine, but I’m afraid I had to laugh–at myself. I’m good at putting routines on paper, but sticking to it–not so much. Although when I do, things go so much better. I grew up in a routine oriented home, but my life in recent years has been heavy on transition. I’m in better routines now than I’ve been for a long time. I know routines are essential for the home to run smoothly and kids thrive on structure and predictability. I know I did. So sticking to a plan is something I work on constantly. Since I don’t plan to move or have a baby this year (just did both those things) and I pray fervently that we won’t be struck by any surgeries or major illnesses any time soon, perhaps by the end of the year we’ll be in a good groove.

Here is my basic routine that works for me when I stick to it!!! This is just the bare bones basics, but it’s a guideline for what needs to be done.

Morning—Before 10

Quiet time (personal Bible reading and prayer)

Dress and comb everyone

Make beds/tidy rooms

Breakfast–hard boiled eggs and fruit or granola bars and fruit

Supper in crock pot

Bread in machine

1 load laundry

Mid-morning—10-12

Mid-morning snack-veggies & dip/nuts/goldfish/pb crackers/popcorn—outside!

2nd load laundry

Homeschool lessons

Lunch

PB&J or burritos+fruit, chips, and/or cookies

10 minute tidy

Story time, if possible!

Afternoon

Naps/quiet time

Finish school

2 loads laundry

Finish supper

Evening

10 minute tidy/clean rooms

Eat supper

Wash dishes

Thaw meat for next day

Lay out clothes for next day

Everyone bathe/brush teeth

How do you determine your daily routines? What works for you?

7 thoughts on “Daily Routines

  1. I noticed that you cook in a crock pot. I love my crock pot as it easily provides hot, cooked meals for my family. I use it for roast, stew meat, chicken stew, lasagna, and baking chicken. I am wondering what kinds of meals you and others cook in the crock pot? I am always looking for an easy and tasty crock pot meal.

  2. Tip: Do you use the crock pot liners??? Soooooo helpful!!!!!! Did I mention that they are helpful??? Ha! Ha!

  3. Beef Tips (so simple)

    ingredients:
    stew meat (1-2 lbs.)
    1 can Campbell’s French Onion Soup
    1 can Campbell’s Golden Mushroom Soup

    Cook on Low all day!! Makes the house smell so good.

    Spoon over rice, egg noodles, or mashed potatoes.

    PS- I know some people like potatoes and carrots with this, but it will mess up the taste to add it to the crock pot mixture at any time during the cooking process. I know from experience. I would cook them on the side and then add them when you fix your plate. I know this is my opinion, but try it like this… it makes a huge difference in the taste.

    ALSO- There are crock pot recipes at Sam’s in a recipe box. I recently got it and plan to try them when I get a chance.

  4. Heather, I don’t cook in a crockpot daily, but when I do it makes life a lot easier. I’m working on my crockpot skills.

    Kelly, no, I’ve never used a liner. I bet it’s easier than my method of soaking the pot all night and then scrubbing with a rock. (Just kidding, it’s a kitchen scrubber called Earth Stone–which works well.)

    The beef tips look yummy!

  5. I like to cook cheap stew meat this way: Cook in the crock pot for several hours with some worcestershire, minced garlic, onion powder, and Tony Chechere’s. You want it done so well that it falls apart.

    Remove and trim off any fat or gristle. It’s easier to do this now than when it’s raw.

    Shred the meat and add bbq sauce. It’s good for bbq sandwiches.

  6. Thanks for the tips!! I can’t wait to try these recipes!

  7. I love to cook in the crock pot too. One of my favorite recipes is Roast Beef. I put a beef roast in the crock pot at night before bed on high (around 10). I season it with seasonal and garlic powder. When I wake up (around 7), I shred the roast (which is usually very easy to do–it falls apart) and I chop a medium size onion (you can also add minced garlic if you want) and add it in. I also add a pack of McCormic brown gravy mix and a cup of water. I set the crock pot on low and let it cook for about another 4 hours. It is wonderful on french bread. Sometimes I add BBQ sauce and make it BBQ beef. It is a great meal for Sundays after Church especially with Best Bakery french bread. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

