Reviving Motherhood

Learning on the Journey

Ladybug Door Sign Tutorial

2 Comments

As promised, here’s our tutorial. So easy! Last week the kids and I made personalized signs for their bedroom doors. I was inspired by Pottery Barn Kids. When I saw their ladybug art (for an arm and a leg) I thought, I can do something similar myself–for pennies! (Looking at the PB site again I’m getting ideas to make it better next time.)

First, pick your materials. I used a square of picture matting, but any heavy cardboard will do. You could even use the back of a cereal box and cover it with a piece of solid-colored paper. Then Sarah and I chose some pretty coordinating scrapbook paper, one for the background and one for the ladybug.

NEWSFLASH!!! HOBBY LOBBY HAS SCRAPBOOK PAPER 50% OFF THIS WEEK!!!

In retrospect this was probably not the best paper to use for a tutorial. Her sign turned out a little busy and the ladybug was hard to see. She had her heart set on these colors, though, so here they are.

I cut a piece of our background paper a little smaller than the cardboard/matting and glued it on. There are lots of fancy scrapbook adhesives that probably work better, but I just use as glue stick.

Trace a circle onto the paper you’re going to use for your ladybug. I used a cup as a guide. I flipped the paper over and traced on the backside so the pen marks wouldn’t show, but it doesn’t really matter. This isn’t about perfection.

There ya go!

Cut the circle in half.

Cut a little strip of paper for the center of the ladybug. You want it the same length as the diameter of your circle. Pottery Barn uses sheet music, and I’ve tried several different contrasting papers, but I keep coming back to sheet music too. It’s cute, neutral, and unexpected.

Decide where you want your ladybug and center the strip. Glue it on.

Glue on one side of the ladybug, centering it at the top of the strip and angling it at the bottom.

Now glue on the other side.

With a sharpie, draw a half circle for the little head, and 2 little antennae.

I added a square of solid paper because it would have just been too busy and un-readable to write her name directly on the background paper.

Personalized!

Hot glued some ribbon on the back. I’m sure there is a more scientific way to do this. I just globbed it on.

To use Sarah’s favorite expression–“Ta DAH!”

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I traced around this ladybug with the sharpie to help her stand out a little. She was sort of fading in to the background.

I made one for Elizabeth since she wasn’t home that afternoon.

And of course, one for Grace, since she is too little. This is my favorite. The possibilities are endless!

Understandably, Silas didn’t want a ladybug. He asked for a cowboy hat. Ummm…

It took a few tries. He kept saying, “No, fatter there. Taller there. Skinnier there.”

See, it doesn’t have to be perfect! Just have fun!

2 thoughts on “Ladybug Door Sign Tutorial

  1. That is so cute!! We’re moving this weekend and I will do this with the kids to keep them busy while the truck is being unloaded. Thanks

  2. I’m curious to find out what blog system you’re using?
    I’m having some small security problems with my latest website and I would like to find something more safe. Do you have any solutions?

Leave a Reply

